Visa Crunch

Almost 11 Countries Have Imposed Travel Bans, Border Closures As Covid-19 Omicron Case Spread

With the WHO declaring a new COVID-19 variant, Omicron, as a variant of concern, many countries are restricting travel once more. The European Union, the United States, and other countries have recently imposed travel bans on African countries, including South Africa.

President Cyril Ramaphosa of South Africa has opposed such a prohibition and expressed his disappointment. This article includes countries that have restricted travel thereby closing international borders.

  • Israel

Since the advent of the new variety, Israel has closed its borders. After hearing about the new variation, Omicron, the country was one of the first to restrict its borders to travel. As of today, all foreigners are prohibited from entering the country, and the restriction is anticipated to extend for 14 days, or until further notice.

  • Japan

Another country that has immediately shut its borders to tourism in Japan. Foreigners, including business travellers and students, have been barred from entering the nation. The government has stated that the border closures are just temporary. Japan had reduced its travel ban on November 8, but that has subsequently altered due to the new variant’s emergence.

  • Australia

Australia has implemented restrictions on travel or outright bans on visitors from Southern Africa. South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini, Malawi, and Mozambique are among these countries. Travellers from these nations who are not Australian citizens, permanent residents, or members of their close families will be denied entry, according to the current restrictions. Australian citizens, permanent residents, and their immediate relatives, on the other hand, will be required to undergo quarantine.

  • Canada

Non-Canadian visitors from Mozambique, South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, and Eswatini will be denied entry. From November 12 forward, this rule will be in effect. All citizens of Canada, as well as permanent residents from these nations, will be expected to adhere to tight regulations.

Before boarding, a negative RT PCR test report is required, as is a test upon arrival. These travellers will also have to stay in a hotel for 14 days to be quarantined. The country has gone ahead and implemented border controls.

  • Italy

Travellers from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe who have visited these countries in the last 14 days are currently barred from entering Italy. The nation has also stated that beginning December 6, an upgraded form for the Italian Green Pass would be available.

  • Indonesia

Following the recent outbreak of the virus, Indonesia expanded the quarantine period from three to seven days. Foreign visitors, as well as Indonesians travelling from Botswana, Zambia, Malawi, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Eswatini, Angola, Namibia, and Hong Kong, have been subjected to stricter restrictions.

  • Morocco

For the next two weeks, this North African country has decided to block all inbound international planes. On November 29, the country decided to implement the prohibition. Along with Japan and Israel, Morocco is the third country to fully restrict international flights.

  • Malaysia

Malaysia has also taken steps to combat the new Covid-19 strain. Malaysia has temporarily barred travellers from Omicron-affected countries from entering the country. In total, eight African countries have been included in the list. In addition, the much-anticipated Vaccination Travel Lanes in the country are likely to be obstructed.

  • Netherlands

The Netherlands opted to restrict flights from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, Zimbabwe, and South Africa because Omicron became a source of worry. The ban on international travel is in effect until December 4, 2021, at 23:59 p.m. This restriction, however, does not apply to Dutch nationals or residents.

  • New Zealand

South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Seychelles, Malawi, and Mozambique are among the nine African nations from which New Zealand has banned travel. The prohibition has been in effect since November 28.

  • USA

South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, and Malawi have all been barred from entering the United States, as have many other countries. Citizens of the United States and permanent residents of the above-mentioned nations, however, are permitted to travel to the United States. Prior to entering the nation, such visitors must test negative for the virus.

Read all the Latest News here. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.

Subscribe to get the latest news and updates.

No Spam, we promise.

Add comment

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular

Most discussed


Book your appoinment today!